Skip to content

Viajero: The Best Book I’ve Read

by on July 9, 2011

by Aderi Garcia

I have read a lot of books and I find it hard to choose which one among them is the best. Simply because each book is different from another. Though at times they may carry the same thought, still they are written differently.  But it’s not often that one will come across a book that will be able to immortalize itself in one’s memory that even though it has been years since you’ve read it you can still remember the story clearly. That is why I chose this one as the best book I’ve ever read even if I have a lot of other choices. The best book for me is entitled “Viajero” by F. Sionil Jose.

So why did I chose this book as the best? First of all because of the story itself. The book is about the history of the Philippines and the natives before the Spanish occupation. Also it discusses  the issues of our society, the conditions of the OFW’s especially of those women who are in Hong Kong, Singapore and Tokyo. But the part that really reached out and imprinted itself in my mind is the travails of the main character Salvador de Laraza. He is an orphan, but fortunately an American Captain adopted him and brought him to the US. But even if that is the case he still felt incomplete because he doesn’t know where he came from.

There are two important things that I realized after reading this: first is that a man with no history, no background will never be complete and will always be lost, just like a piece of puzzle that can’t fit anywhere. Second is that no matter how far you’ve traveled your home will always call back to you, because in the story even if Salvador accomplished a lot and has a good life abroad he chose to stay here even if it means giving up so much.

Second reason why I like this book is because it is very artistically written. I felt like I am actually with the main character, standing beside him wherever he traveled. I have learned that only good writers can do that, make you feel as if you are inside the story, as if you have been transported to a different place, which actually gave justice to the books name “Viajero”. I felt like one myself. Just by reading, I was able to travel into so many places.

Lastly because the book has a lot of substance in it, you will be able to learn so much while being spared from boredom. The writer made it possible for the readers to understand his points easily and he made the book a light read even if it deals with much of our history and our society.

So that’s the number one best book on my list for I have a lot of books that I consider the best. Try reading it as well who knows maybe you’ll find it enjoyable as well. Thank you for sparing again a part of your time reading my blog, till next time.

 

 

From → Adriana

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment